New York Labor Law Violations
Many different New York City and State labor laws protect employees. Our labor lawyers are here to help you.
New York State Labor Law
Some of New York State’s labor laws protect workers by:
- Requiring written notification of pay rate and pay day by February 1st of every year
- Requiring bonds to protect injured workers hurt on construction sites.
- Requiring written notification to separated employees of their right to continue receiving insurance coverage and utilize a group medical insurance policy conversion privilege after termination
- Requiring minimum wages of $8.75 per hour – $9 per hour effective December 31, 2015.
New York City Sick Leave Law
If you work more than 80 hours during a year in New York City the law requires you to receive 40 hours (5 days) of sick leave per year. Paid sick leave is required if there are 5 or more employees working for the employer. If less than 5 employees, you still must receive sick leave time but it may be unpaid. Full time and part time employees are covered for sick leave.
Sick leave can be used because you are ill or to go to the doctor or get treatment. It can be used to care for or take a family member to the doctor. Family members include your child, spouse, parent, grandparent, brother or sister, domestic partner, child or parent of your spouse or domestic partner.
An employee fired for taking a sick leave day they are entitled to receive under the New York City Earned Sick Time Act must complain to the city – there is no right to go directly to court. But you may have the right to go to court under other laws.
Contact a New York City & State Labor Law Lawyer
Call us at (212) 868-6300 to talk about how we can help you protect your rights by getting reinstated or obtaining a cash money settlement.